Arrested for First Offense DWI?
People facing charges for their first DWI/DUI offense are often facing their first encounter with the law. It can be overwhelming and embarrassing. The Law Firm of Michael S. Berardino, formerly Mangialardi & Berardino is here to answer your questions in a confidential consultation. I can guide you through the process of fighting DWI charges. I strongly believe in defending your rights and protecting your freedom.
Contact my criminal defense law firm for DWI/DUI defense in Tarrytown, Dobbs Ferry, Tuckahoe, Elmsford, or throughout the New York City area.
Know the Consequences for your First DWI Offense
- Fines: first offense DWI can result in fines ranging from $500 to $1000
- Jail time: A jail term of up to one year may be assessed
- Probation: you may be subject to a probation period of up to three years
- Your driver’s license: your driver’s license will likely be revoked for six months following the DWI arrest
- Other consequences: If you are convicted for your first DWI offense, you may face additional fines, be required to attend Victim Impact Panels, and may suffer other collateral consequences of a criminal conviction
If you have been arrested and are facing criminal charges for your first DWI offense, there may be options available to avoid the harsh criminal penalties. As a former prosecutor, I know how to effectively present evidence and negotiate with prosecutors. In addition, my experience prosecuting these cases has given me the understanding of how DWI/DUI cases are prepared and how many holes there may be in your case.
For example, I may be able to challenge the evidence from a breath test by proving that the breathalyzer was not properly calibrated or that your acid reflux (or GERD) contributed to the high BAC reading. Or, I can present evidence that your constitutional rights were violated during field sobriety testing.
Protect Your Driver’s License After 1st Offense DWI
By submitting to the Drinking Driver Program, you may be capable of avoiding DWI penalties. For example, completion of this program may make you eligible for a conditional license. Our firm can assist you in pursuing a conditional license (also known as a hardship license) which allows you to drive to and from work, school, and other activities deemed essential by the court. However, this program is not available as a remedy more than once within a five year period. Therefore, most repeat DWI offenders are not eligible for a conditional license.
At The Law Firm of Michael S. Berardino, formerly Mangialardi & Berardino, I recognize how a suspended license or criminal record can impact your life. If you have been charged for drunk driving in New York, contact our defense attorneys locally at or 914-618-4167, or Toll Free at 877-776-5584.
- DWI/DUI Charges
- New York DWI/DUI Law Changes
- DWI/DUI While in College
- Underage Drinking